2018 Allan-Border Medal: Skipper Steve Smith voted Australian “Cricketer of the year”
2018 Allan-Border Medal: Skipper Steve Smith voted Australian “Cricketer of the year”


New Delhi [India], Feb 12: Aussies skipper Steve Smith has been voted as the “Test Player of the Year” in Australia. The honor came during Monday’s Allan Border Medal presentation in Melbourne. It was due acknowledgment for the Aussie skipper’s amazing form stretching from Australia’s tour of India last year to the 4-0 rout of England in the Ashes last month.

Aussies captain show his incredible temperament in test against England. During this phase, Steve Smith was the most productive batsman in Test cricket history with 1,305 runs at an average of 81.56. He scored six centuries from 19 innings. Three of these hundreds were unbeaten knocks.

In January, the International Cricket Council voted Steve Smith as the Test Player of the Year. Virat Kohli was the Cricketer of the Year. Smith became the third player after former captains Michael Clarke and Ricky Ponting to win the award multiple times.

David Warner was crowned as the ODI Player of the Year, having averaged 57 during the 12-month voting period. Warner currently has been out of form in the Twenty20 tri-series featuring England and New Zealand. The left-hander garnered 24 votes to win the award by a margin of six from Steve Smith and all-rounder Marcus Stoinis. Under the voting system that aggregates polling from fellow team members as well as umpires and media representatives, 28-year-old Smith polled 32 votes. Off-spinner Nathan Lyon (26 votes) and opener David Warner (15) followed in that order.

Related News
Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group