BSP to contest solo in MP Assembly polls, No alliance with Cong

Jun 18 2018 10:56 AM
BSP to contest solo in MP Assembly polls, No alliance with Cong

Bhopal: The tactic of forming a pre-poll grand alliance in Madhya Pradesh to overthrow the incumbent BJP rule hit an obstruction after Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) made it mind to contest all 230 Assembly seats alone.

With this step the Congress-BSP coalition are on the backburner, a senior state BSP leader clarified that the party is not going to allay with the Congress for the Madhya Pradesh Assembly polls lined up for later this year.

According to emerging reports, both the parties are strongly disagreed over Gwalior-Chambal region – a traditional monopoly for Congress lawmaker Jyotiraditya Scindia which is also a BSP supporter.

Frenzied discussions are reportedly ongoing behind the doors with neither party willing to move on their demands.

"I was asked by the media that Congress leaders were saying that there are discussions underway with the BSP for an alliance for the next assembly elections. I clarified that we are not in discussions at the state level and, I think, neither at the central leadership level,"  BSP state president Narmada Prasad Ahirwar quoted by PTI as saying.

"As things stand today, we are going to contest all 230 Assembly seats. I have received no directives in this connection (alliance) from the central leadership," Ahirwar further said.

The state Congress, meanwhile, has claimed that it never said alliance talks were underway with the BSP.

"We never named any party. The Congress only said that we would try to have an alliance with political parties with a similar ideology. We never mentioned the BSP's name. It will depend on the situation when we enter the election phase," Madhya Pradesh Congress' media department's chief Manak Agarwal said.

Assembly polls in Madhya Pradesh are likely to be held in November-December this year.

In the 2013 MP Assembly elections, the Congress and the BSP polled 36.38 per cent and 6.29 per cent of the votes respectively against the BJP's 44.88 per cent.

The BJP won 165 seats, the Congress 58, the BSP four while Independents won three seats in the 230-member Assembly.

In the 2008 Assembly polls, the Congress and the BSP secured 32.85 and 8.97 per cent votes respectively, which was collectively four per cent more than the 37.64 per cent vote share of the BJP.



© 2016 News Track Live - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED