Gujarat Election Results: Ahmed Patel wins the Rajya Sabha seat, Shah-Irani also win the elections

Aug 09 2017 07:00 AM
Gujarat Election Results: Ahmed Patel wins the Rajya Sabha seat, Shah-Irani also win the elections

BJP has taken possession of two of the three Rajya Sabha seats in Gandhinagar, Gujarat, although the third seat in the morning talked of Ahmed Patel, who was called Chanakya of Congress, kept his place in the Rajya Sabha while making his own name. 

Patel rebelled against Congress and defeated Balwant Singh in BJP. Patel got a total of 44 votes. At the same time, Amit Shah and Smriti Irani, on behalf of BJP, also got their seats in the Rajya Sabha. 

Apart from Ahmed Patel's 44 votes in the three seats in Gujarat for the Rajya Sabha, Smriti Irani was 46, Amit Shah got 46 votes and Balwant Singh Rajput 38 votes. 

Ahmad Patel's seat was seen in doubt due to voting in the Congress, but before the counting of votes, the Election Commission considered the Congress demanded to cancel the vote of Congress MLA Bhola Bhai and Raghav Patel. But as ordered both of these Congress MLAs voted for BJP. 

The Election Commission said in its order, "Watching the video clearly shows that both rebel legislators of Congress did not keep their vote secret and violated the rule made by them." 

The Election Commission ordered the counting of votes after separating the votes canceled on late night. After all, the counting of votes began with a delay of 7 hours and after the cancellation of the votes of Congress legislators in the counting of votes, 43 out of 174 valid votes for Patel to win. 5 votes were needed. Patel retained his seat in the Rajya Sabha by getting 44 votes. 

Ahmed Patel's victory came as the key to winning Gujarat Parivartan Party MLA Nalin Kotia. Nalin also voted for Congress candidate Ahmad Patel while cross voting. Patel also got substantial benefits for Nalin's vote. 

GPP has merged with BJP in 2014 but Nalin has long been known as a rebel. Nalin voted for Congress candidate Meera Kumar while cross voting in the presidential election. Apart from this, the JD (U) MLA of Chotu Vasava, the only JD (U) MLA of Gujarat, played a key role in Patel's victory. Basavah also voted for Ahmed Patel. 

Also Read:

Poonam Mahajan Meets Superstar Rajinikanth

Ahmed Patel Claims To Win The Rajya Sabha Elections

UP CM Yogi Adityanath mulls MCOCA law to check mafia politician Nexus


To get all latest updates on Cricket like us on Facebook and follow us onTwitter or download Android App

Popular Stories