AIADMK announced constituencies list to contest in LS Poll

Mar 17 2019 12:02 PM
AIADMK announced constituencies list to contest in LS Poll

Chennai: On Sunday, the ruling AIADMK announced the names of the constituencies the party and its allies, the BJP, PMK, DMDK will contest in Tamil Nadu and Puducherry in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections scheduled to be held on April 18 in the state. Addressing a press conference in Chennai, Tamil Nadu deputy chief minister and AIADMK leader O Panneerselvam released the list of constituencies announcing that his party would contest on 20 Lok Sabha seats including South Chennai, Pollachi, Karur and Erode. The BJP which has been allotted 5 seats will contest from Kanyakumari, Sivagangai, Coimbatore, Thoothukudi and Ramanathapuram.

also read Shatrughan Sinha likely to replace with Ravi Shankar Prasad for Patna Sahib Lok Sabha seat

Here it is to be noted that while the PMK will field candidates on seven seats- Dharmapuri, Velliupuram, Arakkonam, Chennai Central, Dindigul, Sriperumbudur and Cuddalore- the DMDK will contest on four seats-Kallakurichi, Tiruchirappalli, Chennai North, Virudunagar. All India NR Congress will contest on the lone seat of Puducherry. The Opposition alliance of led by DMK had on Saturday released the list of constituencies allotted to self and allies. Notably, the DMK will also fight on 20 seats while the Congress will contest on 10 seats including the seat in Puducherry.

To be noted that with the AIADMK-led alliance and DMK-led alliance announcing the list of allotted constituencies, it's clear who will face who in the April 18 election. While the Congress and BJP will face-off in Sivagangai parliamentary constituency, the DMK and AIADMK will lock heads in 8 seats-South Chennai, Tiruvannamalai, Kancheepuram, Salem, Nilgiris, Pollachi, Mayiladuthurai and Tirunelveli.

also read Manohar Parikkar will not get alright anytime soon: BJP MLA

Popular Stories