Azerbaijan, Armenia are ready to start work of the Commission on border delimitation

BAKU: President Ilham Aliyev of Azerbaijan has signed a decree establishing a governmental commission to demarcate the country's border with Armenia.

As per reports, the proclamation, which was published on the president's official website, the commission is chaired by Deputy Prime Minister Shahin Mustafayev. It includes senior officials from 22 institutions, including the Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic's Deputy Prime Minister, many deputy ministers and deputy chiefs of state services, leaders of several local executive authorities, and a Presidential Administration department head.

Meanwhile, Armenian Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan signed a decree on Monday establishing a panel on border delineation and security between Armenia and Azerbaijan, which would be chaired by Deputy Prime Minister Mher Grigoryan. The two opposing countries formed the commissions a day after European Council President Charles Michel hosted Aliyev and Pashinyan for their third trilateral meeting in Brussels since December.

Following the meeting, Michel issued a press statement announcing that the two countries had agreed to begin the border delimitation process by establishing border commissions.

Since 1988, Armenia and Azerbaijan have fought over the mountainous area of Nagorno-Karabakh. Peace discussions have been ongoing since 1994, when a truce was agreed upon, but minor confrontations have occurred on occasion since then.

UN General Assembly resolution urges efforts to mitigate food security crisis

Poland terminates Yamal gas pipeline deal with Russia

Turkey to launch new military operation in Syria: President Erdogan


- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -