Biden Launches Tech Hubs in 32 States and Puerto Rico to Boost Innovation and Jobs
Biden Launches Tech Hubs in 32 States and Puerto Rico to Boost Innovation and Jobs

In a move aimed at fostering innovation and job growth in regions across the United States, the US President Joe Biden administration announced the establishment of 31 technology hubs spanning 32 states and Puerto Rico. President Joe Biden expressed his commitment to invigorating the country's innovation landscape by investing in critical technologies like biotechnology, quantum computing, advanced manufacturing, and critical materials, with the goal of reasserting America's leadership on the global innovation stage. He stated, "I truly believe this country is about to take off."

These tech hubs are the outcome of an initiative initiated by the Commerce Department in May, which sought to allocate $500 million in grants to select cities. This funding was drawn from the $10 billion authorization provided in the CHIPS and Science Act from the previous year, designed to stimulate investments in cutting-edge technologies, including artificial intelligence, quantum computing, and biotech. The intention is to decentralize technology investment, which has historically been concentrated in a handful of major cities such as Austin, Texas; Boston; New York; San Francisco; and Seattle, and extend it to other regions.

Commerce Secretary Gina Raimondo expressed her astonishment at the immense interest this initiative garnered, highlighting that her department received a staggering 400 applications. She stated, "No matter where I go or who I meet with CEOs, governors, senators, congresspeople, university presidents -- everyone wants to tell me about their application and how excited they are."

Formally known as the Regional Technology and Innovation Hub Program, this effort aligns with President Biden's economic vision, emphasizing the importance of enabling individuals to secure quality jobs within their local communities. It aims to disperse opportunities more evenly across the nation, contrasting with the previous concentration of innovation hubs in a few urban centers. The White House views this as a pivotal component of its agenda and a central theme for President Biden's 2024 reelection campaign.

The 31 tech hubs extend their reach to various states, including Oklahoma, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, Montana, Colorado, Illinois, Indiana, Wisconsin, Virginia, New Hampshire, Missouri, Kansas, Maryland, Alabama, Pennsylvania, Delaware, New Jersey, Minnesota, Louisiana, Idaho, Wyoming, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, New York, Nevada, Missouri, Oregon, Vermont, Ohio, Maine, Washington, and Puerto Rico. This initiative signifies a significant step toward making technology and innovation more inclusive and widespread across the United States.

Read More News:

Biden Attributes Hamas Assault on Israel to Disrupt Israel-Saudi Diplomatic Progress

What to Watch Out for UK's Ongoing Support for Israel in Hamas Conflict

US State Official Resigns in Protest of Biden's Approach to Israel-Gaza Conflict

Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News