BJP denies ticket to Yediyurappa's son for Karnataka MLC polls

BENGALURU: The Karnataka BJP announced its candidates for the state Legislative Council elections on June 3 on Tuesday. Former Chief Minister B.S. Yediyurappa's son, B.Y. Vijayendra, was denied a ticket by the party.

Chaluvadi Narayanaswamy, Hemalatha Nayak, former DCM Laxmana Savadi, and S. Keshava Prasad are among the saffron party's candidates.

Basavaraj Horatti, who recently joined from JD, has also been given a ticket by the high command (S). He will run for the BJP in the Karnataka West Teacher's constituency. He will have to run in elections, with the first four candidates being chosen by members of the state Assembly.

Horatti being given a ticket is considered a setback for Yediyurappa. According to party sources, fielding Lakshman Savadi and refusing Vijayendra a ticket sends a clear message that the party no longer wants to remain at Yediyurappa's mercy.

While Chaluvadi Narayanaswamy is the president of the BJP ST Morcha, Hemalatha Nayak has been involved in the party's organisational affairs, Laxmana Savadi was handed a Lingayat quota ticket, and Party State Secretary Keshav Prasad is an OBC candidate.

Meanwhile, M. Nagaraj Yadav and K. Adbul Jabbar were given tickets by Congress. The high command has chosen unexpected candidates for whom the opposition leader Siddaramaiah and the State Congress President have not thrown their support. Both national parties' actions have enraged party members and leaders.

Nominations for Karnataka MLCs likely today, BJP uncertain on Yediyurappa's son

Bommai holds talks with heads of Dassault Systems, Nestle on investment plans in Karnataka

'I am a Hindu, I can eat beef if I want..', Congress leader Siddaramaiah's statement may spark controversy


- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -