BJP's massive victory in Guwahati, fought on 53 seats, lotus blossomed on 52

GUWAHATI: The BJP has registered a landslide victory in the municipal elections in Guwahati, Assam. A total of 60 seats went to the polls and 58 seats have come to the NDA's account. Out of these, 52 seats were clearly won by the BJP, of which 3 were where the BJP won unopposed. Bjp's ally Asom Gana Parishad also won 6 seats, taking the NDA's account to 58.

Surprisingly, in these elections held in 60 seats, the country's oldest political party, the Congress, could not even open its account. At the same time, doing better than the Congress, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) opened its account in Guwahati by winning one seat. After the results of the elections were clear, state CM Himanta Biswa Sarma tweeted thanking the people of Guwahati. In a series of tweets, he wrote, "I bow to the people of Guwahati for the historic victory of THE BJP and its allies in the GMC elections. With this huge mandate, people have reposed their faith in our development journey under the guidance of PM Narendra Modi.''

Earlier in 2013, elections to the Gauhati Municipal Corporation were held. Congress had won 19 of the 31 wards. At that time, the BJP had 11 seats in its account and 1 seat was won by the AGP. This time the number of wards has been increased to 60, of which 50 per cent was reserved for women. A total of 200 people tried their luck in these 60 seats this time.

'Buy painting for Rs 2 crore from Priyanka Gandhi, get Padma Bhushan...', Rana Kapoor was threatened by Congress leader, reveals in court

'Officers from Kerala to understand Kejriwal's Delhi model...', AAP's 'false' claims taken out by Kerala government

MP Navneet Rana sent to judicial custody for 14 days including husband, sedition case registered

- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -
Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group