Congress party released the fourth list of candidates for LS Poll

Mar 17 2019 09:35 AM
Congress party released the fourth list of candidates for LS Poll

New Delhi: On late Saturday night, the Congress party released the fourth list of 27 candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls, fielding senior party leader Shashi Tharoor from Thiruvananthapuram constituency in Kerala and former Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Nabam Tuki from Arunachal West seat. It is worth mention here that of 27 candidates, 12 will contest from Kerala, seven from Uttar Pradesh, five from Chhattisgarh, two from Arunachal Pradesh and one from Andaman & Nicobar islands.

also read Priyanka Gandhi will visit UP today to review the LS poll preparations

It is to be noted that with the release of the fourth list, Congress has so far nominated 81 candidates for the 2019 general elections.In the first list of 15 candidates, the party announced UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi as the candidate from Uttar Pradesh's Rae Bareli party chief Rahul Gandhi from his parliamentary constituency Amethi. However it earlier noted that the Congress’ second list included prominent names like Uttar Pradesh chief Raj Babbar, who will contest from Moradabad and former home minister Sushil Kumar, who was fielded from Solapur.

However, to be noted that the grand old party, in its third list of 18 candidates, nominated former chief minister Mukul M Sangma from Turu seat in Meghalaya and former Union Minister Vincent M Pala from Shillong constituency. Further it is must be noted that the Lok Sabha elections will be held in seven phases starting from April 11 till May 19 and the counting of votes will take place on May 23. Amid thes, The election commission has made amendments on Model Code of conduct for political parties that won’t allow any party to release manifesto with in 48 hours of election.

also read BJP likely to announce candidates for Lok Sabha polls tomorrow in Telangana

© 2016 News Track Live - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED