Election Commission  may declare Karnataka Assembly Polls  schedule today
Election Commission may declare Karnataka Assembly Polls schedule today

NEW DELHI: The schedule for Karnataka Assembly elections could be announced on Tuesday. The Election Commission of India is likely to declare it at around 11 am. The term of the 224-member Karnataka Legislative Assembly will end on May 28.

Since the date of Karnataka polls nearing, the political battle on the poll-ground between leading parties has heated up. Incumbent Siddaramaiah-led Congress government is eyeing a second term in the state while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which is currently in power in 20 states, is putting all effort to expand its saffron wing in the 21st  Lingyat state.  

The political heat in the state is on a sharp scale as Congress president Rahul Gandhi and BJP national president Amit Shah kicking off campaigning in the poll-battle-ground state.

Yesterday BJP president Amit Shah who is on the two-day visit in poll-bound state Karnataka announced the party's chief ministerial candidate will be BS Yeddyurappa. Deve Gowda-led Janata Dal (Secular) is the third party in the poll-battle.

The Model Code of Conduct will come into effect as soon as the EC announce the election schedule.

In 2013, the Congress bagged 122 seats in the 24-member Legislative Assembly Polls.

Related News
Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group