Election Commission Orders Re-Polling in Eight Arunachal Pradesh Booths
Election Commission Orders Re-Polling in Eight Arunachal Pradesh Booths

Itanagar: Following incidents of violence and EVM damage during the simultaneous polling for the Lok Sabha and Assembly elections in Arunachal Pradesh on April 19, the Election Commission has ordered re-polling in eight booths.

According to Deputy Chief Electoral Officer Liken Koyu, the Election Commission declared the polling in these eight booths as void and ordered fresh elections on April 24, from 6 am to 2 pm. The re-polling will take place in the following booths:

Sario in Bameng Assembly constituency, East Kameng district
Longte Loth in Nyapin Assembly constituency, Kurung Kumey district
Bogne and Molom booths in Rumgong Assembly constituency, Siang district
Dingser, Bogiya Siyum, Jimbari, and Lengi polling booths in Nacho constituency, Upper Subansiri district
The initial polling on April 19 was conducted for 50 Assembly seats and two Lok Sabha seats in the state.

Supporters of two candidates clashed near a polling station in the Bameng constituency of East Kameng district on the polling day. Additionally, incidents of EVM damage were reported at three polling stations in East Kameng, Kurung Kumey, and Upper Subansiri districts. The damaged machines were replaced, and polling resumed.

A total of 76.44% of the 8,92,694 voters in the state exercised their franchise to elect 50 of the 60 members of the state assembly. It is noteworthy that the BJP had already won 10 assembly seats unopposed.

The counting of votes for the assembly elections is scheduled for June 2, while the counting for the Lok Sabha polls will take place on June 4.

Scientists Confirm Fossil Evidence of Vasuki Serpent Discovery in Gujarat

Ruling PNC Secures Super-Majority in Maldivian Parliament

Mob Lynched Woman for BJP Vote in Tamil Nadu: DMK's Rising Intolerance?



Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News