India and England's three-match one-day international series came to a thrilling conclusion on Saturday with the visitors winning the final game by 16 runs. India only needed to defend a goal of 170 runs, but they managed to knock England out. When Charlie Dean's innings was terminated by Deepti Sharma, England was down to their final wicket and still required almost 50 runs to win. However, it appeared that Charlie Dean might just lead England to an unlikely victory.
Due to the fact that Deepti ran Dean out as he was backing up—a move known as the "Mankad"—the circumstances surrounding her termination have sparked incredibly divisive opinions. In contrast to the on-air pundits' and England captain Amy Jones' criticism of the decision's method, India captain Harmanpreet Kaur vehemently backed her teammate, contending that Deepti's dismissal demonstrated her awareness.
???????????????????????? (@StarkAditya_) September 24, 2022
The dismissal left the England locker room noticeably stunned. In order to determine whether Deepti was in the middle of her delivery stride when Dean left the crease, the on-field umpires had sent the judgement to the third umpire. When the dismissal was confirmed, Dean broke down in tears, but as soon as the Indians were informed of the third umpire's decision, she went and shook their hands.
Shubham Mishra Sahil (@EndlessMishra51) September 24, 2022
In the presentation ceremony, Harmanpreet expressed her amazement at being asked only about the final wicket and not the other nine. Being questioned about the last wicket led me to admit that I had assumed you would inquire about all 10 wickets, which were not simple to take. We haven't done anything novel, but it's part of the game. It demonstrates your knowledge of the actions of batters. She hasn't broken any rules, so I'll support my players.