First Session LIVE of 18th Lok Sabha Begins Amidst Opposition Protests, PM Modi Takes Oath
First Session LIVE of 18th Lok Sabha Begins Amidst Opposition Protests, PM Modi Takes Oath

NEW DELHI: The 18th Lok Sabha commenced its inaugural session on Monday with the swearing-in ceremony of newly elected members, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi. Earlier today, BJP lawmaker Bhartruhari Mahtab was sworn in as the protem Speaker by President Droupadi Murmu. The session's proceedings are scheduled to unfold with the election of the Lok Sabha Speaker on June 26, followed by President Murmu's joint address to both Houses on June 27. The session is set to conclude on July 3.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, beginning his third consecutive term, took oath as a member of the 18th Lok Sabha. Modi, who along with his Council of Ministers was sworn in on June 9, has represented the Varanasi constituency since 2014. He assumed the role of Leader of the House, being the first to take the oath.

The session is anticipated to witness the INDIA bloc of the Opposition alliance targeting the NDA government on various fronts. Key issues likely to be raised include the escalation in prices, food inflation, casualties from an unprecedented heatwave, and recent controversies surrounding examinations such as NEET UG, NEET PG, and UGC NET. These issues have sparked unrest among students and cast doubts on the efficacy of the examining bodies.

This marks the first session of the 18th Lok Sabha following the general elections, where the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) secured 293 seats, the INDIA bloc obtained 234 seats, and the Congress party secured 99 seats.

Newly Elected MPs to Take Oath in 18th Lok Sabha's First Session: LIVE Updates

18th Lok Sabha Commencement: PM Modi and Ministers to Take Oath Tomorrow

Congress Demands Restoration of Statues of Gandhi, Ambedkar in Parliament Complex

Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News