Formula One champion Lewis Hamilton knighted in year-end royal honours
Formula One champion Lewis Hamilton knighted in year-end royal honours

Seven-times Formula One world champion Lewis Hamilton has been knighted in Britain's traditional New Year Honours list after equalling Michael Schumacher's record of seven Formula One world titles. With this honour,  Hamilton is the fourth F1 driver to be knighted after the late Australian Jack Brabham, Stirling Moss and triple champion Jackie Stewart and the only one to have received the award while still racing.

The 35-year-old race car driver received a knighthood Wednesday as part of Queen Elizabeth II's New Year's honours list, which also recognised British performers, politicians, public servants and people outside the limelight who worked to combat corona.

Hamilton this year became the most successful F1 driver of all time after equalling Ferrari great Michael Schumacher's record seven titles and beating the German's 91 race wins. The race car driver said his recent success was partly inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement. He took the knee on the grid and wore anti-racism slogans during the season. Hamilton told the BBC last week that "it was a different drive than what I've had in me in the past, to get to the end of those races first so that I could utilise that platform" against racism.

Also Read: 

Amazing to see resolve shown by each and every member of team in 2020: Manpreet

EPL plans not to pause season amid rise in coronavirus case

Simeone reaches 500 games as Atletico Madrid coach


Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News