ICC launches 10 teams to qualify World Cup Super League 2023

Jul 27 2020 08:04 PM
ICC launches 10 teams to qualify World Cup Super League 2023

The ICC has officially launched the first ICC Cricket World Cup Super League on Monday 27 July 2020. Hosts and World Champion England's team will face Ireland in a 3-match ODI series from 30 July 2020 at Agus Bowl Stadium in Southampton. The Cricket World Cup Super League will be started, which is going to be the qualifier matches of the World Cup 2023.

The Super League, which was launched to bring ODI cricket into context, is about to determine the qualification for the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2023, with the top 7 teams being ranked according to the ICC rankings, while the team being the host there will be an opportunity to directly qualify for the India event. Apart from a host team India with the top 7 teams, two other teams are also going to play the World Cup through qualifiers.

13 teams, including 12 are full members of the ICC, while a Netherlands team which qualified by winning the ICC World Cricket Super League 2015-17. Under the Super League, these teams have to play four 3–3 matches at home and 4 series for 3–3 matches on foreign soil by 2023. Based on that ranking, these teams will be given the opportunity to qualify for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023.

Also Read-

Irfan Pathan says "Fast Blowers will take time to get the rhythm"

Commonwealth Games 2022: Blue print ready to build world class shooting range

Union Sports Minister Kiran Rijiju announced, Haryana will host Khelo India Youth Games

Popular Stories