In UP Congress leave 7 seats for the SP-BSP alliance

Mar 17 2019 04:15 PM
In UP Congress leave 7 seats for the SP-BSP alliance

NEW DELHI: On Sunday, The Congress said it won't contest seven seats in Uttar Pradesh in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections and leave them for the Mayawati-Akhilesh Yadav alliance. These include Mainpuri, from where Samajwadi Party patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav is contesting, Kannauj, where his daughter-in-law Dimple Yadav is expected to run, and seats on which Rashtriya Lok Dal's Ajit Singh and Jayant Chaudhary will fight and any seat that that Mayawati chooses to contest, Congress leader Raj Babbar announced.

Here it is to be noted that the Congress had said it would fight the elections on its own after Mayawati and Akhilesh Yadav announced an alliance earlier this year, later declaring they will fight 38 and 37 seats respectively, leaving two seats for the Congress. Those are the Gandhi family strongholds of Amethi and Raebareli, the only two the Congress could manage in the 2014 election.

also read Gujarat Congress official website hacked, Hardik sex alleged videos uploaded

In his recent comments, Akhilesh Yadav has maintained the Congress is a part of the UP gatbandhan (alliance), and it had been given the two seats of the Gandhi family, Amethi and Raebareli. But Mayawati has been upset with the Congress since her failed talks with the party on an alliance before the Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan elections in December.

Denied the seats she wanted, the BSP leader and former chief minister opted out of her talks with the Congress, labelling the party, along with the BJP, as "Naagnath and Saapnath (snakes)".

also read PM Modi started a new trend on Twitter with several Union ministers the following suit…

© 2016 News Track Live - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED