IND vs WI: Indian Women's team register a victory in T20 series, Shefali and Mandhana set records

Nov 10 2019 02:57 PM
IND vs WI: Indian Women's team register a victory in T20 series, Shefali and Mandhana set records

Gros Islet: Indian women's team won the hosts West Indies with an easy 84 runs in the T20 International. The Indian women's team achieved an easy 84-run victory over hosts West Indies in the first T20 International here, thanks to half-century innings by the pair of Shefali Verma (73) and Smriti Mandhana (67). Shefali and Mandhana of 15 put on a record 143-run partnership for the first wicket, which helped India score 185 for four in the allotted 20 overs at the Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium here on Saturday. After this, the Indian team allowed the West Indies to score 101 runs for 9 wickets and won easily.

Due to these 4 players, Bangladesh got a spectacular defeat

The spin duo of fast bowler Shikha Pandey, Radha Yadav and Poonam Yadav took two wickets each and took one wicket each to Deepti Sharma and Pooja Vastrakar. After batting, Shefali, playing his fifth T20 for India, hit six fours and four sixes for his first international half-century. Mandhana also played well with this young player and hit 11 fours in his 46-ball innings, in which India scored 102 runs without losing wickets in 10 overs. These two overtook the record of Thrush Kamini and Poonam Raut's 130-run partnership against Bangladesh in 2013.

Mary Kom thanked World Olympic Association for giving her the title of 'OLY'

Chasing this goal, the West Indies team did not have a big partnership with only Sherman Campbell scoring the top score of 33 off 34 balls. After the early dismissals of openers Haley Matthews (13) and Natasha McLean (0), Campbell attempted to extend the innings but the West Indies continued to lose wickets at the other end. Campbell also did not play fast and only two fours and a six in 34 balls. The West Indies had lost six wickets for 86 runs till 14.1 overs. The lower order then collapsed, leading India to a 1-0 lead in the five-match series.

Maheshwari sets national junior record in 3000m steeplechase