IPL 2019 Schedule: Begin from March 29 to May 19
IPL 2019 Schedule: Begin from March 29 to May 19


IPL 2018 kicked off on April 7 at Wankhede Stadium between Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings while the final will take place on May 27 at Wankhede. However, BCCI has decided the dates for the next season already. The 12th edition of the Indian Premier League will be held from March 29, 2019 to May 19, 2019.

A BCCI official announced that “The 2019 IPL will be played between March 29 and May 19," IPL 2019 will be followed by the 50-over Cricket World Cup. The 2019 World Cup will be held in the UK from May 30 to July 14. India are scheduled to begin the ICC World Cup 2019 campaign against South Africa on June 5 while they will face arch-rivals Pakistan on June 16 at Old Trafford.

India have never lost to Pakistan in World Cup matches. India and Pakistan last met in World Cup match back in 2015 where India emerged victorious. They last played against each other in ICC Champions Trophy 2017 final. Pakistan defeated India in this encounter to lift the Champions Trophy for the first time.

The format for the group stage is to have all ten teams play each other in a single group. This means a total of 45 matches will be played with each team playing a total of nine matches. The top four teams from the group will then progress to the knockout stage. A similar format was previously used in the 1992 Cricket World Cup. The knockout stage will see two semi-finals, with the winners of each progressing to the final at Lord's Cricket Ground.

Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News