Karnataka election 2023: What to watch out for exit polls today

KARNATAKA: On Wednesday morning, voting for the 224 assembly seats in Karnataka started. After voting until 6 PM, the results of the exit poll will be released. There are 2,615 contestants total in the running. 
The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which is led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, has expressed confidence in retaining power in the state for another term with a landslide vote. While the Congress waged a vigorous campaign to unseat the BJP. 

On Monday night, the Karnataka election campaign came to a conclusion. During the campaigns for the election of the southern citadel, accusations and counter-accusations flew thick and fast between the senior leaders of all the main political groups.

The majority of polls predicted that Congress would win in the southern citadel. On May 13 (Saturday), the results of the election in Karnataka will be announced. 113 seats are required to form a majority in Karnataka.

Varuna, Kanakapura, Shiggaon, Hubli-Darwad, Channapatna, Shikaripura, Chittapur, Ramanagara, and Chikmagalur are a few of the crucial electoral districts that will have a significant impact. 

Basavaraj Bommai, the chief minister of Karnataka, is running from the Shiggaon district where he has previously won three times.

Siddaramaiah, a former chief minister and leader of the Congress, is running from Varuna, where he currently resides. He has a winning record dating back to 2008. 

BS Yediyurappa, a veteral politician and former chief minister, has nominated his son from Shikaripur.  DK Shivakumar, head of the Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC), will run from Kanakapura. 

Priyank Kharge, the son of Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge, will run for office in the Chittapur Assembly district. 

HD Kumaraswamy, a former chief minister, is running from Channapatna. After suffering a defeat in the 2019 elections, Nikhil Kumaraswamy, the grandson of former Karnataka Chief Minister HD Deve Gowda, will run for the Ramanagara Assembly seat. Notably, Karnataka is the only southern state where the BJP is in control.

Karnataka Polls LIVE: PM Modi writes open letter to people of the state

'Every Kannada's dream, my dream..', PM Modi said - Vote to make Karnataka number one

Karnataka Election 2023 LIVE Updates: Full details of candidates and more

- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -
Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group