Karnataka MLC polls: 7 Candidates Elected 'Unopposed', BJP Gains Majority

BENGALURU:  On Friday, all seven candidates for the Karnataka Legislative Council's biennial election were elected unopposed. The BJP's Laxman Savadi, Hemalatha Nayak, S Keshavaprasad, and C Narayanaswamy were elected, as were the Congress's M Nagaraju Yadav and K Abdul Jabbar, and the Janata Dal's TA Saravana (S).

The election was necessitated by the fact that the terms of seven members of the Legislative Council are coming to an end next month. Laxman Savadi and Lahar Singh Siroya of the BJP, HM Ramesha Gowda and Narayana Swamy KV of the JDS, and Ramappa Timmapur, Allum Veerabhadrappa, and Veena Achaiah S of the Congress are among the retiring MLCs.

Laxman Savadi has been re-nominated by the BJP for the Legislative Council, along with three fresh faces. Each contender would have needed a minimum of 29 votes to win if there was a vote.

On June 3, voting for the seven seats was set to take place. The deadline for withdrawing nominations was Friday. There were just seven contenders in the race, and they were all declared unchallenged winners.

The ruling BJP now has a majority in the Legislative Council, at least until June 15, thanks to the election of four candidates. However, after the outcomes of the elections for four MLC seats, including two teachers' and two graduates' constituencies, which will be held on June 13, the equations may change. 

Karnataka MLC polls: BJP announces candidates, Yeddyurappa's son denied ticket

BJP denies ticket to Yediyurappa's son for Karnataka MLC polls

Nominations for Karnataka MLCs likely today, BJP uncertain on Yediyurappa's son

- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -