Karnataka MLC polls: BJP announces candidates, Yeddyurappa's son denied ticket

Bangalore: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Monday announced its candidates for the biennial legislative council (MLC) elections from Karnataka. The list does not include the name of party vice-president and BS Yeddyurappa's son BY Vijayendra. On the issue, Karnataka BJP unit chief Nalin Kumar Kateel said, "Today is the last day of nominations for the four MLC seats. The central leadership has given the green signal to the names of four candidates, which were decided in the state core committee. '

The central leadership has cleared the names of Chalavadi Narayana Swamy, Hemlata Nayak, S Keshav Prasad and Laxman Savadi for the vacant seats. Apart from this, the BJP has also fielded former council president Basavaraj Horatti. Basavaraj Horatti had resigned from his post and janata dal (secular) and formally joined the BJP only last week. Nalin Kumar said, "We had unanimously recommended Vijayendra's name. As Vijayendra has other chances and the central leadership has made its own guess. He is our Parry vice president and has many responsibilities on him. Probably the central leaders took everyone's advice on this and took a decision. '  

Nalin Kumar said the state unit had sent the names of 20 workers to the high command and only four candidates can contest as there are only so many seats which have been elected on good parameters. He said that all the 20 names will get opportunities in the future as well.

Priyanka Gandhi's entry in Congress's Task Force 2024, Rahul also got big responsibility

'Save water or else you will have to face a big crisis...', cm Shivraj warns officials

Waseem Rizvi to retire after converting to Hinduism, Anand Swarup says this is a big deal

- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -