Kerala: Pinarayi cabinet swearing in after May 20, New faces to be inducted

May 05 2021 11:00 AM
Kerala: Pinarayi cabinet swearing in after May 20, New faces to be inducted

Thiruvananthapuram: The swearing-in ceremony of Pinarayi Vijayan’s new cabinet will be held after May 20, hints sources. CPM secretariat meet held on Tuesday opined that it is ideal to delay the swearing-in ceremony in view of the covid cases. As per reports, new faces will be considered while forming the cabinet.

K K Shailaja, MV Govindan, K Radhakrishnan, VN Vasavan, P Rajeev, KN Balagopal, Saji Cherian, V Sivankutty, CH Kunjambu, PP Chitharanjan, P Nandakumar, Veena George, MB Rajesh, Kanathil Jameela, R Bindu, Muhammad Riyas or AN Shamseer are in the probable list of the ministers.

Among the current Cabinet members, only Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan and Health Minister KK Shailaja are the sure bets. Ministers MM Mani, AC Moideen and TP Ramakrishnan are members of the new House too. Senior leaders MV Govindan, K Radhakrishnan and VN Vasavan are expected to get crucial portfolios in the new Cabinet. P Rajeev and KN Balagopal are the second line leaders to be entrusted with some of the most important departments.

Shailaja is likely to continue as Health Minister. Otherwise, Veena George may be considered. Her name is doing the rounds for the Speaker post along with KT Jaleel. AC Moideen is being considered for Power. MB Rajesh is more likely to be Education Minister and Agriculture may go to CPI's P Balachandran. CPI is likely to get three more Ministerial posts along with the Deputy Speaker post.

Kerala: Top Congress leaders gracefully accepted their defeat

His Grace the most Rev. Dr. Philipose Mar Chrysostom Mar Thoma passes away

'Bengali voters have made a historic mistake', says Babul Supriyo, who was outraged after losing