Lebanon's MPs fail to elect the president 7th Time
Lebanon's MPs fail to elect the president 7th Time

Beirut: Lebanese lawmakers failed for the seventh time on Thursday to choose a replacement for Michel Aoun. Despite receiving the support of 42 MPs, MP Michael Moawad's total was well short of the required majority due to the number of bad ballots cast by MPs supporting Hezbollah.

A new session of parliament is scheduled for next Thursday to elect the president. Two replacement MPs, Najat Saliba and Mark Daou, gave two additional votes to Moawad. He announced that his support was growing and urged the opposition to form alliances with each other.

General Joseph Aoun, chief of the armed forces, was suggested as a presidential candidate by a Hezbollah MP, but this would require a constitutional amendment.

Also Read: One person was killed in Sudan's anti-coup protests

MP Sajia Attiya called for the formation of a joint parliamentary committee to come up with a plan to end the impasse.

Legislator Adeeb Abdel-Masih said in response to the depositors' threats, "Either you elect a president and work to return our money, or there will be blood in the country. I see this as endangering the public at peace." I see

After the meeting, MP Ali Hassan Khalil, political assistant to parliament speaker Nabih Berri in the Amal movement, stressed the importance of finding a way to end the impasse.

Also Read: Algeria executes people who were killed in a wildfire

The white paper "affirms our insistence that we do not challenge any other constituents," he continued. "Walking out of a session and losing the quorum for another session is one of the ways of expressing an opinion."

Hezbollah MP Ali Ammar stressed the value of communication. He claimed that General Aoun "set a good example in his management of the military institution and through his leadership of the military was able to safeguard civilian peace."

Sami Gemayel, a member of parliament for the Kataeb party, called the most recent events "a tasteless game" and urged future elections to choose a president.

The appeal process before the Constitutional Council resulted in two recently elected MPs losing their seats, including Rémi Fing of Change.

The council stripped anti-corruption activist Fing of his Sunni seat in Tripoli and gave it to his longtime rival and rival lawmaker Faisal Karami. Karami claimed that consensus and dialogue were necessary to elect a new president.

The council also accepted an appeal made by Haider Asif Nasser, the candidate for the seat of parliamentarian Firas al-Alwit Salloom in Tripoli. To ensure that the quorum was lost, Hezbollah lawmakers and allies walked out of the full chamber before the start of the second session. 110 members of the 128-member parliament were present for the meeting.

There were 50 white papers that concerned Hezbollah, the Amal Movement, the Free Patriotic Movement, and independent parliamentarians who were allies of Hezbollah.

Eighty Sunni and Change MPs who have not decided whether to vote for Moawad hold papers with the words "New Lebanon" on them.

Also Read: Berlin airport runways are closed after pressure from environmentalists

Academic Ziad Baroud received two votes, one of which came from deputy speaker Elias Bou Saab, while Essam Khalifa received six votes, five of which came from independent MPs.

A ballot in the name of Badri Daher, the Director General of Customs, detained in connection with the explosion at Beirut port, was also found inside the ballot box. His involvement with the free patriotic movement is evident.

Salvador Allende, the Chilean Marxist leader from 1970 to 1973, was named on another paper.

Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News