LIVE: Gorakhpur / Phulpur By-Election Result 2018; BJP leads by 1,900 votes

Mar 14 2018 11:49 AM
LIVE: Gorakhpur / Phulpur By-Election Result 2018; BJP leads by 1,900 votes

Uttar Pradesh: The Counting of votes has begun today at 8 AM for the bypolls in the Lok Sabha seats of Phulpur and Gorakhpur in Uttar Pradesh.
bypolls had held after UP CM Adityanath and Deputy CM Keshav Prasad Maurya vacated their Lok Sabha seats of Gorakhpur and Phulpur, respectively, upon being elected to the state Legislative Council last year after Assembly Polls.

Phulpur: The SP is leading with 12,383 votes, BJP is trailing with 9,906 votes.
Earlier, round four of counting was over in Phulpur Lok Sabha constituency. The EC said that there was a delay due to "some problem" with one EVM.

BJP says "early trends not final numbers" as Phulpur slowly tilts towards Samajwadi Party. BJP's candidate from Phulpur Lok Sabha seat Kaushlendra Singh Patel says that these numbers are just "early trends." 

Kaushlendra Singh Patel also added: "Bharatiya Janata Party will win with a huge mandate, wait and watch,"

Gorakhpur: Four rounds of counting have been done in Gorakhpur, but Election Commission officials are not disclosing anything now. 

Sources at the Gorakhpur counting centres have said the BJP is leading by just 1,900 votes in the city at the end of the eighth round of counting. However, the DM officials aren't informing details about the seat tallies

Voting for the two seats held on Sunday. While 47 percent of the voters exercised their franchise in Gorakhpur, in Phulpur very lower 38 percent votes recorded. The BJP is upset due to the SP-BSP association. SP-BSP association will eat Dalit votes, especially in Phulpur. In fact, Phulpur has never been a BJP stronghold.

© 2016 News Track Live - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED