MCD Election Results: AAP gets 134 out of 250 wards

NEW DELHI: With 134 seats, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Wednesday succeeded in the prestigious battle for the Municipal Corporation of Delhi, ending the fifteen-year rule of the BJP.

Notwithstanding, the saffron party also crossed the 100 mark and secured 104 seats.

The Congress party won 9 wards, while 3 independent candidates have also managed to win, as per official trends. A cumulative of 126 seats were required to win the election.

Reckoning for the 250 wards of the civic body commenced at 8 a.m. amid tight security arrangements at 42 centres. There have been a total of 1,349 candidates in the fight. This was the prime election after the MCD was reunified earlier this year.

The polls on Sunday seen a voter turnout of only 50.48 percent, just over 73 lakh people from the total of 1.45 crore entitled voters.

As the result was announced, scores of party workers began crowing at the AAP's headquarters in New Delkhi
Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal along with his deputy, Manish Sisodia, Gopal Rai, Punjab Chief Minister, Bhagwant Mann arrived the AAP headquarters and addressed the civic election winners and party workers.

Arvind Kejriwal also thanked people after the massive win in MCD election and said "all of us have to make Delhi clean, beautiful".

AAP got majority in MCD polls, BJP in the 2nd position

'Delhites have done the work of sweeping Delhi's garbage today': Sanjay Singh

AAP won 124 seats in Delhi MCD elections, BJP lagging behind


- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -
News Track Live
Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group