Nepal caretaker Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli resigns from the post

Kathmandu:  Nepal caretaker Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli resigned on Tuesday as opposition leader Sher Bahadur Deuba is set to be sworn in as the new PM after the Supreme Court's verdict, saying that Our party abides with the order given by the Supreme Court.

The apex court in its verdict ordered President Bidhya Devi Bhandari to appoint Deuba as the successor of now caretaker Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli. A total of 146 members of the House of Representatives (HoR) reached out to Supreme Court with a writ petition to demand the restoration of the house and appoint Sher Bahadur Deuba, as the next prime minister on May 24.

The petitions at that time included a total of 61 members of the House of Representatives from the Nepali Congress, 49 from the Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist Centre), 23 from the Madhav Nepal faction of CPN-UML, 12 from Upendra Yadav-Baburam Bhattarai of Janata Samajbadi Party and one from Rashtriya Janamorcha Nepal.

With Oli failing to secure the vote of confidence on May 10, Bhandari on May 13 had appointed Oli prime minister under Article 76 (3) of the constitution as the leader of the party with the highest number of members in the House.

A week after his appointment, Oli on May 20 in a sudden move recommended that the President invoke Article 76 (5) to choose a new prime minister. Dissatisfied with the judgement of the Supreme Court, supporters of caretaker Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli on Monday staged a protest against the order to reinstate the dissolved House of Representatives (HoR).

Spanish cabinet reshuffle: Pedro Sánchez names younger Cabinet with more women

Woman commits such act in a flying plane that endangered passengers' lives

UN CBD releases new Global Biodiversity Framework for managing nature


- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -