Nirmala Sitharaman files nomination for RS from Karnataka
Nirmala Sitharaman files nomination for RS from Karnataka

BENGALURU: Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman filed her nomination as a BJP contender for the Rajya Sabha seat in Bengaluru's Vidhana Soudha (Legislative Assembly) on Tuesday. 

Sitharaman submitted her nomination papers before  Vidhana Soudha Secretary Vishalakshi.
Nirmala Sitharaman went to the famous Gavi Gangadhareshwara Temple in Bengaluru's Chamarajpet locallity to offer prayers before registering her nomination.

At the time of the nomination filing, Karnataka Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai, former Chief Minister B.S. Yediyurapa, and BJP state president Nalin Kumar Kateel were present.

"The State BJP welcomes Prime Minister Narendra Modi for permitting Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman to run for Karnataka," Yediyurappa stated. "The BJP has fielded three candidates, and all party officials would work hard to secure their victory," he said.  The elections will take place on June 10th.

On Monday, former Union Minister Jairam Ramesh filed his nomination as a Congress contender. The BJP is fielding three candidates, while the Congress is fielding two.

To win a seat, a candidate must receive 45 votes from MLAs. The ruling BJP has the support of 122 MLAs and can comfortably win both candidates. With the assistance of 70 MLAs, the Opposition Congress can assure the victory of one candidate.

Jayant Chaudhary files nomination for Rajya Sabha

Naqvi, Javadekar out of list from BJP for Rajya Sabha polls

AAP to send Sant Balbir Singh and Bikramjit to Rajya Sabha, CM Mann announces


Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News