Nitish Kumar's PM Candidacy: Opposition Unity or Identity Crisis?

Patna: Maheshwar Hazari, a prominent leader of the Janata Dal (United) and the Deputy Speaker of the Bihar Assembly, has announced that the opposition I.N.D.I. Alliance intends to nominate Nitish Kumar as its candidate for the position of Prime Minister in the upcoming 2024 Lok Sabha elections. Hazari indicated that an official statement to this effect will be released by the alliance in the near future. He made these remarks when asked about the party's preparations for the upcoming general elections.


Hazari stated, "Chief Minister Nitish Kumar possesses all the qualities necessary for the role of Prime Minister. When the I.N.D.I. Alliance announces its Prime Ministerial candidate, it will undoubtedly be Nitish Kumar." Despite three meetings held by the opposition alliance this year, they had not yet announced their candidate for the Prime Minister's position in the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections. Hazari also sought to bolster Nitish Kumar's candidacy by referencing a statement from Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who had previously referred to Nitish Kumar as the country's tallest socialist leader since Rammanohar Lohiya. Hazari pointed out that Nitish Kumar has served as Bihar's Chief Minister for 18 years and has held ministerial positions in the central government five times during his political career.

However, Nitish Kumar himself has repeatedly expressed that he has no personal ambitions to become the Prime Minister. Instead, he has stated his willingness to lead the opposition's campaign in the upcoming general elections, emphasizing the importance of opposition leaders coming together for the benefit of the country. In his own words, "I have said this before and I will repeat it again. I have no ambition for myself. All I want is for Opposition leaders to unite and forge ahead. This will be to the benefit of the entire country."

The I.N.D.I. Alliance is a political coalition consisting of 28 parties, including the Trinamool Congress, Aam Aadmi Party, Samajwadi Party, Rashtriya Janata Dal, Janata Dal (United), and Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), among others. The alliance is led by the Indian National Congress and has come together with the goal of defeating Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the BJP-led NDA alliance in the upcoming elections.

PM Modi, Sachin Tendulkar Launch Shiva-Inspired Cricket Stadium in Varanasi Amid Controversy

Congress Leader Demands Creation of Five Deputy CM Posts in Karnataka

Trinamool Congress Legislator Accuses Party Leadership of Selling Tickets for Money

- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -
Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group