NL West: Dodgers grab the leading Baseball title for the 8th time

Sep 23 2020 11:36 AM
NL West: Dodgers grab the leading Baseball title for the 8th time

The winners of National League West have been announced. For the eighth consecutive season, the Dodgers confirmed the title of the National League West, hitting four home runs in a 7-2 victory over the Oakland A’s on Tuesday night while the second-place San Diego Padres were succumbing to the Angels. The win also secured the Dodgers’ status as the No. 1 seed in the National League playoffs. Since the leagues were divided into divisions in 1969, only two teams have lorded over their neighbors longer than the Dodgers. The New York Yankees won nine consecutive American League East titles from 1998 through 2006.

Djokovic completes 286th as number one player

The Atlanta Braves won the title for 14th consecutive division from 1991 through 2005 (with no division championships to be had in the strike-shortened 1994 season) Max Muncy, Chris Taylor and AJ Pollock also went deep for Los Angeles, which manages the majors with 104 home runs. Dustin May (2-1) went five innings and allowed two runs on three hits. The 22-year-old red-headed righty fixed a team record by not conceding more than three earned runs in his first 13 career starts, which include 10 this season.

IPL 2020: Dhoni's anger erupted during the match, fiercely debated with field umpire

Manager Dave Roberts also elongated his personal record by escorting the Dodgers to an NL West title in each of his five seasons at the rudder. Last year he became the first administrator in MLB history to lead his team to a division title in each of his first four full seasons. Roberts earlier joined Tommy Lasorda (1977) as the only rookie manager in franchise history to oversee the Dodgers to a division title when they won it in 2016.

IPL 2020: Ness Wadia raises questions on umpiring, appeals to BCCI to maximize use of technology