Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik hails hockey players on incredible show at Tokyo Olympics

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Wednesday hailed the athletes from the state who were part of the Indian hockey team in the just concluded Tokyo Olympics. The welcome reception was held at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar. Birendra Lakra, Amit Rohidas, Deep Grace Ekka, and Namita Toppo were part of the Indian teams which created history at the showpiece event. The Chief Minister handed over the cash award of Rs 2.5 crore to Birendra Lakra and Amit Rohidas. He also handed over the offer letter for appointment as Deputy Superintendent of Police in the State Police department. He praised the performance of the players in winning a bronze medal for the country. The Chief Minister handed over a cash award of Rs 50 lakh each to Deep Grace Ekka and Namita Toppo, who were part of the Indian women's team. 

Let us tell you that the next edition of the Men's Hockey World Cup will also be played at Kalinga Stadium, Bhubaneswar. The players were delighted to be back at their home grass. where they had competed against the best in the world which helped them in their journey to the Olympics. They expressed their deep sense of gratitude towards the Chief Minister for supporting Indian hockey which led to wonderful results in the Tokyo Olympics. The Olympians were encouraged that the State Government has accomplished its commitment of cash rewards and jobs on their arrival in the state. Birendra Lakra, the vice-captain of the men's team, presented to the Chief Minister the Team Jersey with the signatures of all the team members. Deep Grace Ekka, the vice-captain of the women's team, presented to the Chief Minister the women's Team Jersey with the signatures of all the team members.

The hockey players from the High-Performance Center and the Sports hostel were present during the ceremony. Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik assured all support to the emerging players from Odisha. Minister for Sports and Youth Services Tusharkanti Behera and Chairman, Odisha Hockey Promotion Council, Dilip Tirkey, and Secretary Sports R. Vineel Krishna also graced the ceremony.

India & England lost WTC points for slow over-rate in 1st Test

Wear handlooms at least once in a week: NAFSCOB chairman.

Traders asked to vacate Gaddi Annaram market by August 23.

- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -