Oscar 2018: 'The Shape of Water' wins best picture award
Oscar 2018: 'The Shape of Water' wins best picture award


The 90th Academy Awards ceremony is underway in Hollywood at the Dolby Theatre; with proceedings once again host Jimmy Kimmel acting as a master of ceremonies at a gala event of the entertainment world.

The Shape of Water' won  best  picture award.‘The Shape of Water’ is a 2017 American fantasy drama film directed by Guillermo Del Toro and written by del Toro and Vanessa Taylor. It stars Sally Hawkins, Michael Shannon, Richard Jenkins, Doug Jones, Michael Stuhlbarg, and Octavia Spencer. Set in Baltimore in 1962, the plot follows a mute custodian at a high-security government laboratory who falls in love with a captured humanoid-amphibian creature.

In the major categories,

Best original screenplay award went to Jordan Peele for 'Get Out'.

Gary Oldman won best actor in a leading role for “Darkest Hour”

Guillermo Del Toro won best directing for “The Shape of Water’

“Coco” won best original song for “Remember Me”

‘A Fantastic Woman’ won for Best Foreign Language Film Awards, and became the first Chilean film to win the Oscar award.

Legendary Cinematographer Roger Deakins Won First Oscar for 'Blade Runner 2049', After 14 nominations.

Frances McDormand won best actor (female) award for 'Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri' .

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri is a 2017 drama film and dark comedy written, produced, and directed by Martin McDonagh. With a loose knot based on a true story, it stars Frances McDormand as a mother who rents three billboards to call attention to her daughter's unsettled murder mystery.

It was a titanic moment for British-born, 68-year-old Deakins, who is considered one of the all-time greats in his field but also was the most Oscar-nominated cinematographer without a succeed.

Denis Villeneuve’s Blade Runner 2049’ was a visual feast of a film, and on Sunday night, it grabbed the prestigious Oscar for Achievement in Visual Effects. Visual effects supervisors John Nelson, Paul Lambert, and Richard R. Hoover, plus special effects supervisor Gerd Nefzer, all gathered at gala stage to accept the award.



Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News