Indian citizenship to be given to tortured 'minorities' of 3 countries

Jun 10 2021 06:08 PM
Indian citizenship to be given to tortured 'minorities' of 3 countries

New Delhi: After the Indian Union Muslim League (IUML), the Popular Front of India (PFI) has also filed a petition in the Supreme Court challenging the central government's decision to grant Indian citizenship to non-Muslim minorities in three neighbouring countries. The petition challenged a notification issued by the Centre allowing minorities from Pakistan, Afghanistan, Bangladesh to apply for citizenship. the PFI has appealed to the Supreme Court to stay the notification.

State that the Central Government has invited applications for Indian citizenship from non-Muslim people like Hindus, Sikhs, Jains and Buddhists from Afghanistan, Bangladesh and Pakistan and living in 13 districts of Gujarat, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Haryana and Punjab. The Union Home Ministry has issued a notification to this effect for immediate implementation of the order under the Rules framed under the Citizenship Act, 1955 and 2009. However, the government has not yet framed rules under the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) which came into force in 2019.

When the CAA came into force in 2019, violent protests broke out in different parts of the country, and riots broke out in Delhi in early 2020 amid the same protests. According to the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA), non-muslimminorities who were subjected to religious persecution in Bangladesh, Pakistan and Afghanistan will be granted citizenship by December 31, 2014.

G7 nations aim to join forces to end the Covid pandemic, strengthen health care systems

IIT Kanpur, ICICI Securities collaborate to facilitate rapid delivery of medical oxygen

Reliance: FCCU unit at Jamnagar refinery shut, exports may be impacted