Punjab Lok Congress releases first list of 22 candidates

The Punjab Lok Congress led by former Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh has announced 22 candidates for the Punjab Assembly elections (Punjab Assembly Elections 2022). Out of 22 candidates, two are from Majha, three from Doaba and 17 from the Malwa region. The party's next list is expected to be released in two days. At present, there are eight Jat Sikhs in this first list. At the same time, four of the candidates belong to the SC community, three belong to the OBC community, while five are Hindu faces.

This time in Punjab, Captain Amarinder Singh is in the fray along with BJP and Shiromani Akali Dal jointly. The BJP has already announced 35 of its candidates. Former Punjab Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh had announced the name of his new political party, Punjab Lok Congress, in November last year. In fact, Amarinder Singh resigned as the Chief Minister of Punjab in September after a political struggle with Punjab Congress President Navjot Singh Sidhu. After the announcement of the first list of candidates, Amarinder Singh has announced that he will not allow Navjot Singh Sidhu to win.

The Punjab BJP in charge had announced some time ago that there would be a joint manifesto for this three-party alliance. Captain, BJP and Shi'ad (United) are contesting this time with a seat-sharing formula and not a traditional alliance and the alliance will work on priority issues including Punjab, Sikh community, farmers, UBC etc.

PM Modi to speak on Mann ki Baat on death anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi

Lakha Sidhana to contest from Punjab, criminal in Red Fort violence case

Rumours of Lata Mangeshkar's demise, Smriti Irani said- 'Pray for her'

- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -