Rajesh Kumar, Kanimozhi Somu are DMK candidates for Rajya Sabha bypolls

Tamil Nadu: Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), the political party from India, today announced party candidates for the two Rajya Sabha seats. Party president and Chief Minister M.K Stalin said Kanimozhi N.V.N. Somu and K.R.N. Rajeshkumar would be the party candidates for the by-elections to be held on October 4.

The ruling DMK has announced Dr Kanimozhi Somu and K.R.N. Rajeshkumar as the party’s candidates for the Rajya Sabha elections scheduled for October 4.Chief Minister, M.K. Stalin announced the candidature of the two. The Rajya Sabha seats have fallen vacant in Tamil Nadu after sitting AIADMK members, R. Vaithilingam and K.P. Munuswamy quit their seats on getting elected to the Tamil Nadu assembly in 2021 polls.

Filing of nominations for the two seats will begin tomorrow and September 22 will be the last date for filing of nominations. The scrutiny of nominations will take place on September 23 and the last date for withdrawals is September 27.

While Vaithilingams’ term was to end on June 29, 2022, Munuswamy’s tenure would have come to an end only on April 2, 2026. This will lead to the tenure of one seat to nine months while that of the other will have 5 years term.

BJP now alleges Mamata Banerjee didn’t mention about pending criminal cases in her by poll nomination

'Protest of farmers sponsored by Congress, entire movement is against BJP,' party's MLA opened the poll

'Those opposing Ram temple are now in the shelter of Shri Ram,' AAP's Tiranga Yatra in Ayodhya


- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -