Sonia Gandhi appoints new CWC members

NEW DELHI: Congress President Sonia Gandhi has nominated four new members to the Congress Working Committee (CWC), including former Haryana Congress chief Kumari Selja and Rajya Sabha member Abhishek Manu Singhvi.

T. Subbarami Reddy of Andhra Pradesh and former Uttar Pradesh Congress chief Ajay Kumar Lallu have been appointed as permanent invitees and special invitees to the Congress Working Committee , respectively.

The new appointments also reflect an effort to carefully balance the political equation within the party. While  Singhvi was promoted for his contributions to and handling of legal issues, Ms. Selja, a Gandhi family loyalist, was brought in as a counter to former Haryana Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda.

Similarly, Ajay Kumar Lallu is a confidante of Priyanka Gandhi Vadra in Uttar Pradesh who has now been appointed to the party's highest decision-making body.

The new CWC inductions, announced on June 23, come at a time when organisational elections to elect new Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) chiefs are taking place.

Droupadi Murmu Seeks Support From Sonia, Mamata & Pawar

Sonia writes to ED seeking more time to appear before Agency

Money Laundering: Sonia Gandhi discharged, Satyendra Jain gets admitted, both of them fall ill as soon as ED probe begins


- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -