Supreme Court orders constitution of Spl court for cheque bounce cases

New Delhi: The Supreme Court on Thursday ordered that special tribunals with a retired judge be established in five states beginning September 1 to expedite the resolution of check bounce cases.

In light of the large number of cases pending in these states, a three-judge bench of Justices L Nageswara Rao, B R Gavai, and S Ravindra Bhat stated special courts under the Negotiable Instruments Act (NI) would be established in Maharashtra, Delhi, Gujarat, Uttar Pradesh, and Rajasthan.

"We have taken into account the amicus's recommendations for the pilot courts' establishment, as well as the timetables." It is set to begin on September 1, 2022. The secretary-general of this court shall ensure that a copy of the present order is given straight to the registrar generals of the five high courts, who should then present it to the chief justices for quick action," the bench added.

The top court adopted the amicus curiae's advice that five districts in each of the above states with a large number of NI Act cases be chosen and one court constituted in each district. The Supreme Court ordered its secretary-general to notify the order to the registrar generals of these states' high courts, and to file an affidavit of compliance by July 21, 2022.

As a pilot experiment, the amicus advised establishing one court in one district with a retired judge. On July 26, the case will be heard.

Gyanvapi case: Stay on hearing in Varanasi court, SC granted till tomorrow

SC appoints panel to oversee functioning of the All India Football Fed

Sheena Bora murder case: Accused Indrani Mukerjea granted bail by Supreme Court


- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -