Campaign for the civic elections in Dibrugarh is over
Campaign for the civic elections in Dibrugarh is over

On Friday evening, election campaigning for the Dibrugarh Municipal Board (DMB) elections came to a end. Political parties held rallies in favour of their respective candidates. Six candidates withdrew their nominations from the 22-ward Dibrugarh Municipal (DMB) election, leaving 81 candidates in the race.

Gautam Dutta of the BJP won ward no. 1 uncontested when the only other contender, Dinendra Nath Sakia of the Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP), withdrew his nomination. Independents Atish Chandra Bagchi and Paltu Das (both ward no 4), Daniya Ahmed (ward no 10), Arun Kumar Jain (ward no 11), and Asish Sengupta (ward no 11) were among the five candidates who withdrew their papers (ward no 14).

The BJP has candidates in all 22 seats, while the INC has candidates in 19 of them. The Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) is contesting nine seats, with the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) competing seven and the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) contesting four. With 1,17,690 votes in its 22 wards, the Dibrugarh Municipal Board has the highest electorate. In Dibrugarh, there will be 129 polling booths.

'India's dominance in Ukraine..', Yasmin's cried coming back to home

CM Bommai- 'Efforts are on to bring Naveen's body to India..'

Rainfall light to moderate along the Tamil Nadu coast


Related News
Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group