UNESCO adds four natural and three cultural sites in its World Heritage List
UNESCO adds four natural and three cultural sites in its World Heritage List

The World Heritage Committee today added 7 sites to UNESCO’s World Heritage List. These names are Amami-Oshima Island, Tokunoshima Island, northern part of Okinawa Island, and Iriomote Island (Japan), Getbol, Korean Tidal Flats (Republic of Korea), Kaeng Krachan Forest Complex (Thailand) and Colchic Rainforests and Wetlands (Georgia).

Three were listed for their cultural properties, among them one transnational site: Arslantepe Mound (Turkey), Extension of Defence Lines of Amsterdam, henceforth to be known as Dutch Water Defence Lines (Netherlands) and the transnational site of Colonies of Benevolence (Belgium and Netherlands).

The additions made on Wednesday were decided the extended 44th session of the World Heritage Committee held online and chaired from Fuzhou, China, which is examining nominations from both 2020 and 2021, according to a UNESCO statement.

The serial property encompasses 33 sites in two component parts 300 km apart: 22 petroglyph sites at Lake Onega in the district of Pudozhsky featuring a total of over 1,200 figures and 3,411 figures in 11 sites by the White Sea in the district of Belomorsky. "They show significant artistic qualities and testify to the creativity of the Stone Age," said the committee.


France to issue New anti-Covid Health pass for cafes, trains from August 9

Yemeni Prime Minister, US envoy discuss ceasefire initiative

Saudi Arabian citizens warned against visiting ‘red-list’ countries facing travel ban


Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News