UNGA adopts resolution on Graduation of Bangladesh from the LDC category

Dhaka: At its 76th session, the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) passed the resolution. Bangladesh, Nepal, and the Lao People's Democratic Republic are the three countries that have been granted graduation.

"The United Nations General Assembly has adopted resolution A/76/L.6/Rev.1, Graduation of Bangladesh, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, and Nepal from the category of least developed countries," the UN said in a statement on Wednesday.

"The three countries will graduate from the LDC category after an exceptionally long preparatory period of five years (the standard period is three years) to allow them to plan for a post-COVID-19 recovery and implement policies and strategies to reverse the economic and social damage caused by the COVID-19 shock," it said.

"The United Nations General Assembly passes a historic resolution exempting Bangladesh from the LDC category." What better way to commemorate our 50th year of independence and the centenary of Bangabandhu's birth? Rabab Fatima, Bangladesh's Permanent Representative to the United Nations, tweeted on Wednesday, "Fulfillment of national aspiration and Prime Minister's vision 2021."

U.S, India agree on transitional approach to 'Equalization Levy' 2020

US planning emergency oil release to combat rising prices

UK to host G7 Summit at Liverpool in December


- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -