Unprecedented 99% voting for electing the new President

The vote for electing the 14th President of India concluded on Monday evening at 5 p.m. with a record turnout of 99%.

The election was conducted at 32 polling stations, including in Parliament and the State Assemblies in at least 10 States and one Union Territory. Instances of cross-voting have been reported in five States, including Gujarat, UP, Haryana, Punjab, and Tripura, during the presidential polls as MPs and MLAs in the country made a beeline to polling stations to choose the 14th President of the nation. Three Members of Parliament — Tapas Paul, Anbumani Ramadoss and Rama Chandra Hansdah — did not vote. DMK chief M. Karunanidhi and Sikkim MLA Sher Bahadur Subedi could not vote for health reasons.

Chhedi Paswan, BJP MP from Sasaram in Bihar, could not vote as his election was quashed by the Patna High Court last year. Even though the order has been stayed by the Supreme Court, he does not have voting rights.

Among State Legislative Assemblies, whereas the value of each Member of Uttar Pradesh Assembly is the highest, that is 208, the lowest vote value is a Sikkim Legislative Assembly Member, which is 7. 

The votes were taken to Delhi where a count will be made on July 20th


CM Patnaik seeks helicopter assistance as floods ravage Odisha

Voting for the next president post is scheduled to take place today

Make Your House Party A Hit with the delicious Crispy Potato Fry


- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -