Voter Turnout Peaks in Ladakh at 52%, Maharashtra Lags at 27% as of 1 pm, Updates Here
Voter Turnout Peaks in Ladakh at 52%, Maharashtra Lags at 27% as of 1 pm, Updates Here

Voter Turnout Varies Widely in Fifth Phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2024 - Today marks the fifth phase of voting in the ongoing Lok Sabha elections 2024, covering 49 parliamentary constituencies across six states and two Union Territories. The voting began this morning amidst high security and continued until 1 pm.

As of 1 pm, Ladakh reported the highest voter turnout at 52.02%, while Maharashtra recorded the lowest at 27.78%.

Voting commenced at 7 am and will conclude at 6 pm, with voters in line by closing time still eligible to cast their ballots.

According to the Election Commission of India (ECI), over 8.95 crore voters, including 4.69 crore males, 4.26 crore females, and 5,409 third-gender electors, are participating in this phase. They will decide the fate of 695 candidates.

This phase has seen prominent leaders like Rahul Gandhi, Rajnath Singh, Smriti Irani, Rajiv Pratap Rudy, Piyush Goyal, Ujjwal Nikam, Karan Bhushan Singh, Chirag Paswan, Omar Abdullah, and Rohini Acharya contesting across these constituencies.

The 49 Lok Sabha seats up for grabs in this phase include 14 from Uttar Pradesh, 13 from Maharashtra, 7 from West Bengal, 5 from Bihar, 3 from Jharkhand, 5 from Odisha, and 1 each from Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh.

Here's the voter turnout percentage state-wise as of 1 pm:

Bihar: 34.62%
Jammu and Kashmir: 34.79%
Jharkhand: 41.89%
Ladakh: 52.02%
Maharashtra: 27.78%
Odisha: 35.31%
Uttar Pradesh: 39.55%
West Bengal: 48.41%

Polling is ongoing, and final figures will be updated after voting concludes later today.

BSP Looks to Make a Comeback in Delhi Despite Shrinking Vote Share

Mamata Banerjee Gets Notice from Bharat Sevashram Sangha Monk, Here's Why

Defence Minister Rajnath Singh Votes in Lucknow, Urges Citizens to Partake in Elections

Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News