Why is Team India changing captain again and again? BCCI chief Sourav Ganguly responds

New Delhi: Since the T20 World Cup 2021, Team India has tried eight captains in all formats so far. These include names from former captain Virat Kohli to current captain Rohit Sharma. The BCCI's selection committee had said earlier this year that they are preparing some players for captaincy in the future, but due to the constant change in captaincy, many veterans and experts have criticized the board. Now, BCCI chief Sourav Ganguly has given a direct reply to the critics on the criticism about changing the captain continuously.  

Speaking to the media, Ganguly has pointed out that so many players involved in international matches need a break to protect them from injuries and this has helped India give opportunities to as many players as possible. Former Captain further said "Rohit Sharma is now the captain of Team India in all formats. He plays so many matches, so getting hurt is obvious and so he needs a break to avoid injuries. It has the advantage that many new players come up. We have won with these new players in West Indies and England. India now has a pool of 30 players who can play for the national team anytime.''

Former cricketer and commentator Aakash Chopra and former national selector Saba Karim had consistently questioned the decision to change the captain. After which now BCCI chief Sourav Ganguly responded openly on this issue.

Ind vs Zim: This dashing all-rounder joined Team India for ODI series

Hrishikesh Kanitkar to join Team India on Zimbabwe tour

Shoaib Akhtar has been locked up in an apartment for a week, gave reason on his birthday today

- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -