Video communication platform Zoom has released two new security features to enhance the online meeting experience. Zoom toi enable hosts and co-hosts to temporarily pause the meeting and remove a disruptive participant. Recently, Zoom has shared information about an internal tool will be used to help prevent meeting disruptions before they happen.
“Suspend Participant Activities,” icon has been added in the upgraded version. By selecting this option all video, audio, in-meeting chat, annotation, screen sharing, and recording during that time will stop, and Breakout Rooms will end. Zoom will ask the hosts or co-host whether they would like to report a user from their meeting, share any details, and optionally include a screenshot. A click on the “Submit” button removes the reported user from their meeting, and Zoom’s Trust & Safety team will be notified. Hosts and co-hosts may resume their meeting by individually re-enabling the features they’d like to use. An email post meeting will be sent to collect more information.
This new feature is available for all free and paid Zoom users.Zoom already has report user option but now meeting participants can also report a disruptive user directly from the Zoom client by clicking the top-left Security badge. Account owners and admins can enable reporting capabilities for non-hosts in their web settings. Both these new features are available on the Zoom desktop clients for Mac, PC, and Linux, and our mobile apps. At-Risk Meeting Notifier has been deployed now to scan public social media posts and other websites for publicly shared Zoom Meeting links. Zoom alerts account holder and host if it finds the meeting as risky and provides instruction on what can be done.