Zverev, who hit racquet in the umpire's chair, had to pay a hefty fine

Tokyo Olympics gold medalist Alexander Zverev has been fined $40,000 (about Rs 30 lakh) by the Men's Professional Tennis Tour (ATP) for hitting a racket on the umpire's chair after losing a doubles match at the Mexican Open. Along with which his prize money of more than $30,000 and all the ranking points have also been deducted.  

The ATP has also announced that it is going to review the incident with further information. The ATP has said that Zverev has also been fined for using abusive words and behaving contrary to the spirit of the game.  

What was the case?: Tokyo Olympic champion and world number three Alexander Zverev has been shown the way out of the tournament on Wednesday for using abusive language with the chair umpire and becoming violent. Defending champion Zverav has also taken a dig at the umpire after losing in the pre-quarterfinals of the doubles event. After the match, he first hit the chair umpire's chair several times with a racket and then abused the officer. He has faced the brunt of this behaviour of his. Zverav has publicly apologised for his actions after the match. But after the match, the organisers of the ATP tournament have eliminated the second seed and the defending champion in the singles event.  

Russia once again got a big blow, this opportunity was snatched away due to the attack on Ukraine

Dabang Delhi became the winner for the first time in the history of PKL

Leander Paes's wife Rhea is a victim of domestic violence, court ordered this

- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -