HC prohibits Yogi government's decision to include 17 castes in SC category

Sep 16 2019 05:47 PM
HC prohibits Yogi government's decision to include 17 castes in SC category

Lucknow: Allahabad High Court has stayed the decision of the Yogi Adityanath government in the case of inclusion of 17 OBC castes in the Scheduled Castes (SC) category in UP. The High Court has stayed the order of Uttar Pradesh government on June 24. The Yogi Adityanath government has suffered a major setback with the Allahabad High Court's decision. At the same time, the Division Bench of the High Court has also called for a reply from the Government of Uttar Pradesh.

The decision was heard by the Division Bench of Justice Sudhir Aggarwal and Justice Rajiv Mishra on the petition of Gorakh Prasad. The High Court immediately accepted that the Yogi government's decision was wrong. The court says that the government did not have the right to take such a decision. Only Parliament can make changes in the castes of SC and ST. The Allahabad High Court also clarified that the Central and State governments do not have such authority.

The High Court has asked Manoj Kumar, Principal Secretary, Government of Uttar Pradesh, to give a personal affidavit for the case. Let us tell you that the Yogi Adityanath government of Uttar Pradesh had ordered the inclusion of 17 very backward castes into Scheduled Castes in the month of June. These 17 castes include Kahar, Kashyap, Kewat, Mallah, Nishad, Kumhar, Prajapati, Dhivar, Bind, Bhar, Rajbhar, Dhimar, Watham, Turaha, Godiya, Manjhi and Fisherman.

Also Read: 

Maharashtra Election: Seats split in Congress-NCP, know on how many seats both parties will contest

NGT files a petition against Kejriwal government's odd-even scheme

'Will come back and submit report to court' Ghalam Nabi after getting permission to visit valley

Muslim countries advised to Pakistan, said - Do not make bitter statements against India


© 2019 News Track Live - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED