Banking operation To Be closed For seven Days In May Month

As per the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) holiday calendar list,  the operations at several public and private sector banks across the country will remain closed for 12 days in May.

These also include the second and fourth Saturdays as the banks remain shut on these days. The RBI has placed the holidays under three brackets- Holiday under Negotiable Instruments Act; Holiday under Negotiable Instruments Act and Real-Time Gross Settlement Holiday; and Banks’ Closing of Accounts.

For the month of May, the RBI holiday list indicates six holidays but some of these are city and state-centric. Apart from that banks do not function on second and fourth Saturdays (which are on 8th and 22nd in May) and Sundays.

Today (May 10, 2021), the bank holiday is being observed in Jammu and Srinagar for Shab-i-Qadr. This is apart from the fourth Saturday (May 22) and the remaining 3 Sundays that will be there this month.

Now for the days ahead in May month for which banking operations shall not be available to customers, there are 3 declared holidays that will be observed in a majority of Indian states, barring few. Ramzan-Id (Id-Ul-Fitr) (Shawal-1)- May 13. Bhagvan Shree Parshuram Jayanti/Ramjan-Eid (Eid-UI-Fitra)/Basava Jayanti/Akshaya Tritiya - May 14, and Buddha Pournima- May 26.


RBI allows re-opening of one-time restructuring individuals and MSMEs till Sept 30

Second threat of Covid-19 will dampen India Inc's recovery: ICRA Report

GDP Forecast: India's GDP may grow at 11 pc in FY22: Asian Dev Bank



- Sponsored Advert -

Most Popular

- Sponsored Advert -