BCCI strategy to named Indian Team for World Cup 2019; Team named to assist team India

Apr 16 2019 11:15 AM
BCCI strategy to named Indian Team for World Cup 2019; Team named to assist team India

On Monday, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) named four fast bowlers to assist Team India in their preparation for World Cup 2019. The list released by the cricket board on their official website includes Navdeep Saini, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed and Deepak Chahar. The impressive bunch of young pacers Saini, Khaleel and Chahar have displayed their potential for their respective franchises in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2019. While Avesh featured in only a solitary match in the ongoing season of the lucrative season.

also read India squad for World Cup 2019 announced, Rishabh Pant out, KL Rahul in

Here it is to be noted that the core 15-member squad, led by Virat Kohli, saw veteran Dinesh Karthik pipping young turk Rishabh Pant in the fight for the second wicket-keeper's slot. The 33-year-old Karthik got the nod ahead of the 21-year-old Pant despite an indifferent IPL campaign with the Kolkata Knight Riders.

Prasad said while announcing the squad here "The second wicketkeeper comes into play only if Mahi (Mahendra Singh Dhoni) is injured. We went ahead with Karthik because of his experience in big matches,". The side, expectedly led by Virat kohli, comprises five specialist batsmen, two wicket-keepers, three fast bowlers, three all-rounders and two specialist spinners. Tamil Nadu all-rounder Vijay Shankar made it for his "three-dimensional" qualities. India, touted as one of the favourites to win the World Cup, will get their campaign underway on June 5 against South Africa, who are expected to announce their squad on April 18.

also read Singapore Open: PV Sindhu advanced into the Semifinals, Saina out in Quarter-Finals

However it is to be noted that India will later face defending champions Australia on June 6, followed by heavyweights New Zealand on June 13. The much-awaited clash between India and Pakistan will take place on June 16.

© 2016 News Track Live - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED