Big winners of 65th National Film Awards
Big winners of 65th National Film Awards

The 65th National Film Awards have awarded best talents in all languages. The jury was headed by filmmaker Shekhar Kapur with a 10-member panel comprising of Kannada film director P Sheshadri, screenwriter Imtiaz Hussain, actor Gautami Tadimalla and lyricist Mehboob.
Here let's have a look at the winners of featured film category.

‘Baahubali 2: The Conclusion’

It was only expected from ‘Baahubali 2: The Conclusion’ to make its presence observed at the 65th National Film Awards. The film has crashed all box-office records. It also had left a lasting impression 
across the globe and got three awards to its credit. The film starring Prabhas, Anushka Shetty, Rana Daggubati, Tamannaah, Ramya Krishnan, Nassar and Sathyaraj won the award for Best Special Effects and Best Action Direction besides the Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment.


Late actress Sridevi

The unfortunate decease of the first female superstar, Sridevi once again made the everyone moist-eyed as she was awarded the Best Actress National Award for best actress in ‘Mom’. The late diva was presented with the award posthumously for her performance in the thriller that also starred Nawazuddin Siddiqui, Akshaye Khanna and Pakistani actress Sajal Ali. The film was not just Sridevi’s last work but had also marked her golden jubilee in cinema.


Regional cinema

The National Film Awards gave regional cinema a bow this year with films and actors walking away with top prises. Assamese film ‘Village Rockstars’ won the Best Feature Film award. Actor Riddhi Sen surprised everyone with his Best Actor award 
win for the Bengali film ‘Nagar Kirtan’. Not only this, Tamil film ‘Kaatru Veliyidai’ starring Aditi Rao Hydari won two awards while ‘Village Rockstars’, Malayalam film ‘Bhayanakam’ and Bengali film ‘Nagar Kirtan’ took away multiple awards in several other categories.


AR Rahman

Music maestro AR Rahman won two National Awards in one go but also became the only composer to win six National Awards in total. This record was previously held by veteran music composer Ilaiyaraaja, who holds five National Awards to date. Rahman bagged the Best Music Director award for his work on the Mani Ratnam film 'Kaatru Veliyidai' besides winning the award for the Best Background Score for 'Mom' starring the late Sridevi. With this achievement, the Oscar winner remains unbeatable for his contribution to the world of music, not just in India but on the global stage.



Rajkummar Rao’s ‘Newton’ was appreciated by the critics and the audience and has now won the National Award for the Best Hindi Film. Directed by Amit V Masurkar, the film has also won actor Pankaj Tripathi a Special Mention Award for his performance of an army officer. ‘Newton’ was an original story revolving around how elections are conducted in Naxal-hit areas. It was also India's entry in the Best Foreign Language Film category at the 90th Academy Awards and had swept the Filmfare Awards with several nominations and winning the Best Screenplay and Best Film.

Related News
Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group