Biplab Kumar Deb to be CM of Tripura, Nitin Gadkari
Biplab Kumar Deb to be CM of Tripura, Nitin Gadkari


In Tripura, the newly elected members of BJP and its ally IPFT have met in Agartala today to elect their legislative leader.

After a historic victory in the Assembly elections, BJP appointed Union Ministers Nitin Gadkari and Jual Oram as the Central Observers to help facilitate the election of legislature party leader in the state. After meeting with elected and core committee members, the Central observers submited their report to the BJP Parliamentary Board for the final announcement of the name of the Chief Minister.


 In the press meet, Biplab Kumar Deb to be the chief ministerial candidate for Tripura announced Union Minister Nitin Gadkari.

Jishnu Deb Burman will work with me as the deputy CM of Tripura said Biplab Kumar Deb.

The swearing-in of the new ministry is expected to be held on March 8 at the Swami Vivekananada Maidan in the heart of the town.

The BJP bagged 35 of the 59 seats that went to polls in Tripura and its ally, the Indigenous People's Front of Tripura (IPFT), won eight seats.

Polling was cancelled in one seat due to the death of the CPI(M) candidate.

Meanwhile, the IPFT on Monday rised pressure on the BJP, saying it would hold up the new government from outside if it was not given "respectable" positions in the ministry.

Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group
Related News