Chandrababu Naidu turns down Jagan Mohan Reddy's swearing-in ceremony invitation
Chandrababu Naidu turns down Jagan Mohan Reddy's swearing-in ceremony invitation

NEW DELHI: Jagan Mohan Reddy will take oath as the second Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh around noon today, exactly a week after he stormed to power on May 23. Jaganmohan Reddy had invited Chandrababu Naidu on Tuesday, five days after the results of the Andhra Pradesh assembly elections showed that his YSR Congress party had swept 151 of the 175 seats in the state.

However, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu has decided to skip the swearing-in ceremony of his successor YS Jagan Mohan Reddy on Thursday. The party, however, has decided to send a delegation to meet YSR Congress Party chief at his residence. Instead, a TDP delegation comprising party leaders Atchan Naidu, P Keshav and G Srinivasa Rao will meet the Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister-elect at his Amaravati residence before the event and hand over a congratulatory letter.

Telugu Desam Party (TDP) leaders Atchan Naidu, P Keshav and G Srinivasa Rao will meet the YSRCP chief and also hand over a letter from Naidu congratulating Reddy on assuming the office of the chief minister.

The YSRCP chief had personally called Naidu and invited him to the swearing-in ceremony on Monday. However, the majority of the TDP leaders advised Naidu to stay away since Jagan was taking oath at a public event and the TDP chief should skip it.

The YSR Congress won 151 of the 175 seats in the state Assembly, decimating the TDP headed by N Chandrababu Naidu,who became the first chief minister of the state after it was bifurcated to carve out Telangana five years ago. YSRC won 22 of the 25 Lok Sabha seats.

also read: Arun Jaitley don't want to be a minister under the new government, these leaders may replace him

Related News
Join NewsTrack Whatsapp group